James Lawrence House
82 Marlborough StreetThis building was built in 1876 and is part of the Back Bay Historic District as well as a National Register Historic District.
Year Built: 1876
The conservatory was removed sometime before 1908. Oddly, it was published in 1917, some 19 years after the death of Sturgis and 21 years after the dissolution of Sturgis & Brigham. This design appears on a page with “Detail of Interior Decoration, also designed by Sturgis & Brigham. It may be that the designs are related. Nonetheless, Sturgis & Brigham designed a number of buildings in Back Bay in the 1860s and 1870s. It would be fascinating to know why this design was published at this late date.
• Local Historical District
• National Register District
• Comparison of 1908 G.W. Bromley Atlas (Plate 020) and 1888 G.W. Bromley Atlas, Vol 2, Plate 33. The older atlas shows the conservatory and the later one does not.
• Back Bay National Register Historic District, 8/14/1973, National Park Service #73001948.
• Back Bay Historic District, 9/3/1966.
• The Book of the Boston Architectural Club for 1917, Boston, Mass. 1917
• “Architecture of H.H. Richardson and His Contemporaries in Boston and Vicinity: 1972 Annual Tour,” Society of Architectural Historians, Philadelphia, 1972, Margaret Henderson Floyd, (Sturgis & Brigham, 82 Marlborough Street, James Lawrence House, 1876)
• Massachusetts Cultural Resources Information System, Massachusetts Historical Commission, Inventory No. BOS.3119 (James Lawrence House, 82 Marlborough Street, 1876, Sturgis & Brigham, architects).
<<< Back to Design List
Destroyed or removed by 1908
2010, rear, location where the conservatory once was