William J. Quincy House
24 Garfield StreetThis house is 2½-stories high and has its east gable end to the street but its entrance on the south side. Cross gables, bays and a recessed porch make for a complex picturesque style which is transitional from the Queen Anne to the Colonial Revival. A simple recessed door surround with an entablature is Colonial Revival. Queen Anne features include a gable end rosette, decorative shingle pattern and a sunburst motif above an oriel supported on carved consoles, fish-scale pattern shingles in the north cross gable, the elaborate nutting window surround and recessed porch under an arch on the north façade.
Year Built: 1882
It was built in 1882.
William Quincy was the first occupant of this house and resided here from 1882-1902 and was a manager at Lewandow’s Dye House in Watertown Square. Bartlow A. and Inez Yerxa resided here from ca. 1914-1930.
The house was originally numbered 6 Garfield Street prior to May 31, 1912.
• Middlesex South Registry of Deeds, Book 1604, Page 531, Knapp to Quincy (land).
• Plan of Building Lots on the Brigham Estate, Middlesex South District Registry of Deeds, Plan Book 46, Page 47 (1885)
• Division of Clients, Sturgis & Brigham, 8/1/1886, John Sturgis Papers (Boston Athenaeum), A. Knapp noted.
<<< Back to Design List
2009 - view of front gable